Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer News HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News
College Soccer


November 28, 2012
ND's Finley, Powers make cut, so does Illinois native Quon

Notre Dame's Ryan Finley is a semi finalst for the MAC Hermann Trophy
Linda Cuttone/Sports Vue Images
KANSAS CITY, Kan.---Notre Dame's Ryan Finley and Dillon Powers and Lake Forest Illinois native Rachel Quon are among the 15 men and 15 women that have been announced as the Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy semifinalists.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer. It is presented annually in January during a banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

Finley was named the Big East Offensive Player of the Year and was one of two unanimous selections to the all-conference first team. He led all conference players with 12 goals in league play and ranked second nationally with 18 regular season goals in addition to being third in total points with 40. Finley had five multiple-goal games this season, including a hat trick against Providence.

Powers earned his fourth All-Big East honor, and first First Team selection, this season. He was a second team pick as a sophomore and junior and was on the all-rookie squad in 2009. The central midfielder has played in a team-high 69 straight games, including 56 consecutive starts, and posted career-high totals this season in points (14) and assists (6). His four goals this season have tied a career-best mark. He scored the only goal as the Irish defeated UConn 1-0 in the Big East semifinals, and collected two assists as the top-seeded Fighting Irish blanked Michigan 3-0 in the second round of the NCAA tournament.

Both are also on the ballot for the Soccer News Net College Boot

Stanford's Quon, who has also started all 23 games for the Cardinal, has logged a team-high 1,823 minutes and has a pair of goals and seven assists this the year while helping the team to another College Cup final four. She is also on the ballot for the Soccer News Net College Boot

Several players from this year’s Watch List were named semifinalists. On the men’s side, Connecticut’s Carlos Alvarez (Los Angeles), Coastal Carolina’s Ashton Bennett (Claredon, Jamaica), Akron’s Scott Caldwell (Braintree, Mass.), Georgetown’s Steve Neumann (New Hope, Pa.), and New Mexico’s Devon Sandoval (Albuquerque, N.M.).

On the women’s side, Watch List players turned semifinalists include Duke’s Natasha Anasi (Arlington, Texas), UCLA’s Zakiya Bywaters (Las Vegas), North Carolina’s Crystal Dunn (Rockville Centre, N.Y.), Florida State’s Ines Jaurena (Charenton-le-Pont, France), BYU’s Lindsi Lisonbee Cutshall (Park City, Utah), Boston College’s Kristen Mewis (Hanson, Mass.), Virginia’s Carolina Miller (Rockville, Md.), Florida’s Erika Tymrak (Bradenton, Fla.), and Penn State’s Maya Hayes (West Orange, N.J.) and Christine Nairn (Arnold, Md.).

The top three vote-getters for each gender will be announced Thursday, Dec. 6. The winner will be announced during the MAC Hermann Trophy banquet in St. Louis on Friday, Jan. 11, 2013.
Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2014 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC All Rights Reserved