Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer News HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News
Major League Soccer


November 29, 2012
Quakes Wondo wins MLS award in a walk

NEW YORK – San Jose Earthquakes forward Chris Wondolowski was voted the Volkswagen MLS Most Valuable Player for the 2012 season by a wide margin over the other finalists.

Wondolowski’s 27 goals this season tied the League's all-time single-season goal record and won him a second Budweiser Golden Boot award. He also became the only player in MLS history to score the most regular season goals in three consecutive seasons. His consistency throughout the season earned him four MLS Player of the Month awards, a feat unrivaled through the sixteen MLS seasons.

The California native led the Earthquakes to their second Supporters’ Shield title in club history, just a year removed from finishing 14th overall in the League.

Since entering MLS in 2005, Wondolowski has recorded a total of 68 league goals, 64 of which came after moving from Houston to San Jose in the middle of the 2009 season. He ranks twentieth all-time in MLS goal scoring, two behind Cobi Jones.

The award was voted on by media, MLS players and MLS club management based on regular season performance. The other two finalists were Sporting Kansas City midfielder Graham Zusi and New York Red Bulls forward Thierry Henry. Wodolowski received over 90% of both the media and club votes and over 70% of the player vote for a weighted total of 259.03. Henry finished second with a weighted total of 14.49. Zusi was third at 6.64 and Houston’s Brad Davis fourth at 3.51.

All-Time MLS Most Valuable Players:
2012: Chris Wondolowski – San Jose Earthquakes
2011: Dwayne De Rosario – D.C. United
2010: David Ferreira – FC Dallas
2009: Landon Donovan – LA Galaxy
2008: Guillermo Barros Schelotto – Columbus Crew
2007: Luciano Emilio – D.C. United
2006: Christian Gómez – D.C. United
2005: Taylor Twellman – New England Revolution
2004: Amado Guevara – MetroStars
2003: Preki – Kansas City Wizards
2002: Carlos Ruiz – LA Galaxy
2001: Alex Pineda Chacón – Miami Fusion
2000: Tony Meola – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Jason Kreis – Dallas Burn
1998: Marco Etcheverry – D.C. United
1997: Preki – Kansas City Wizards
1996: Carlos Valderrama – Tampa Bay Mutiny

Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2015 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC All Rights Reserved